Most people believe that social media such as facebook and instagram negatively impact on society and individuals. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

As the world is growing, social media has become a sensation, with numerous benefits. However, a huge number of civilians argue that digital platforms like Instagram and Facebook are detrimental to mankind. I completely agree with this statement. One reason why this statement stands true is that people are becoming subject to cyberbullying in the form of trolling. When people present themselves in front of the world through Instagram, there are thousands of derogatory remarks being passed on by netizens; relating to their height, weight, and colour. Furthermore, these social networking sites are filled with sadists, who try to destroy someone's mental health for fun. This is leading to several tragedies taking place; some of these tragedies are horrifying. Another reason for standing with this statement is that people are sabotaging their physical health because of using these addictive apps. Although individuals know that these apps are taking a toll on their future, they can't resist using these sites. In addition to that, their relations are deteriorating and they are being pushed away from reality into an ugly world. They are becoming atrocious, hostile, and whatnot. It feels like they are just empty from the inside. In conclusion, even though social media has some benefits, it is the main reason behind anxiety, depression, and even PTSD. I certainly believe that some strong measures should be taken to restrict some of the content available on these sites and there should be limitations on how much social media should be consumed in a day.