Money spent on space exploration is a complete waste. Governments could better spend this money on other things to benefit the nation. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There can be little doubt that the government completely wastes a large amount of money on exploration outside the earth, while the government can spend this money on other national priorities. The writer of this essay argues that the money that was spent on space exploration is an entire loss because of environmental pollution and uncertain returns on investment. It is vital to understand that space programmes always lead to serious problems for the environment. This is because flying objects such as spaceships and satellites release various wastes and other toxic chemical substances. Moreover, launching the spaceship requires a lot of fossil fuels, which release emissions, for instance, CO2 and O2. Therefore, it is extremely harmful to the air, as well as emissions from flying objects can lead to air pollution and the greenhouse effect. To exemplify this, according to the research in the USA that measured the air quality index (AQI). In further detail, AQI is a standardized system used to measure and report air quality levels. It is evident that the areas that surround space program sites have significantly increased by around 100 points. Another point that is worth considering is the low-interest return from space exploration. In other words, despite the high cost of the investment, the space programmes often failed which was caused by some predictable factors such as weather and the orbit of meteors. For example, in 2023, the SPTS satellite, which belonged to NASA, was blown up after accidentally hitting one of the natural meteors. As a consequence, investing in space exploration is a risky decision. Hence, taking all points into account, it has been demonstrated that governments are completely wrong when investing in the exploration of the universe. Thus, it is clear that the amount of money spent on space exploration projects should be used for other national priorities.