News editors decide what to broadcast on television and what to print in newspapers. What factors do you think influence these decisions? Do we become used to bad news? Would it be better if more good news was reported?

Editors of public information release TV broadcasts and newspapers based on different factors especially viewers' preference. Humans can be accustomed to hearing negative news hence it would be advisable to release more of endearing stories. I would discuss these views extensively in this essay. To begin with, TV stations and newspaper companies tend to prioritize the viewers rating while deciding what to release. This is because of either the quest to attract more audience or solely to make more profit or more often than not to obtain both. As a result, they release alluring information to the public no matter the possible effect of the news. A popular example is a scandal story of celebrities. People are mostly interested in unexpected twist in a famous person's life and as such would be willing to spend fortune to know further. This has never failed to attract people. Contrarily, it is recommended to release more of positive views as humans can be accustomed to detrimental updates. To buttress this, assimilating certain views stimulates the brain part that releases neurotransmitters or hormones such as epinephrine and norepinephrine which people can get addicted to. For instance, Nigerian citizens have been exposed to more drawbacks for so long that they seem well familiarised with such feeling. For this reason, many residents use this as a strategy to attain fame which results in frequent chaos than harmony among the people. In conclusion, in as much as news companies decide based on the people's preferences, it should be emphasized that the effect of the information, either good or bad should be considered assiduously.