Some people believe that unpaid community service should be compulsory part of high school programmes ( for example working for charity , improving the neighbourhood or teaching sports to younger childern ). To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It has been suggested that high school students should be involved in unpaid community service as a compulsory part of high school programmes. Most of colleges are already providing opportunities to gain work experience, however these are not compulsory. In my opinion, sending students towork in community services ia a good idea as it can provide them with many lots of valuable skills life skills are very important and by doing voluntary work, students can learn how to communicate with others and work in a team but also how to manage their time and improve their organizational skills. Nowadays, unfortunately, teenagers do not have many after school activities. After- school clubs are no longer that popular and students mostly go home and sit in front of the TV or play video games. By giving them compulsory work activities with charitable or community organizations, they will be encouraged to do something more creative. Skills gained through compulsory work will not only be an assest on their CV but also increase their employability. Students will also gain more responsibility toward work and money as they will realise that it is not that easy to earn them and hopefully will learn to spend them in a more practical way. Healthy life balance and exercise are strongly promoted bt NHS, and therefore any kind of spare time charity work will prevent from sitting and doing nothing. it could also possibly reduce the crime level in the high school age group. If students have activities to do they will not be bored and come up with silly ideas which can be dangerous for them and their surroundings in conclusion, i think it is very good idea, and hopefully this programme will be put into action for high schools colleges shortly