Most people believe that social media such as facebook and instagram negatively impact on society and individuals. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

In today's digital world, the term "Social media " is really common. Today social media platforms such as Facebook and Instagram have become an unavoidable part of society. I would any day contend for the fact that the negative influence of these digital platforms in one's life is far greater than the positive ones. Firstly, social media platforms have the immense power of bringing the world closer. Today we are able to connect with friends and family who live far away, which was made possible only because of social media. Many businesses have achieved huge success just by using digital marketing, as they are able to understand and interact with the global society. Social media is a very powerful tool, where one can share viewpoints and feelings and will be able to reach out to a larger crowd. For instance:- most celebrities use these platforms to market themselves and also to showcase their wealth & lifestyle which most of the time creates a negative trend among youngsters. Secondly, social media have the ability to make an individual famous and rich really fast. This ability of such platforms is so great that even parents today are ready to accept the fact that kids can be successful in life using social media completely neglecting its negative effect on kids at later stages of life. To add further, world political leaders use this platform to widely spread their selfish propaganda, which for sure has the power to alter an individual's capability to think wisely, for example, digital news channels today are so biased that most people think they no longer possess and ethics towards their profession. To conclude, social media or any digital platform is like a double-edged weapon, one can use this incredible technology to improve and grow at the same time he or she can get addicted to unwanted and harmful content and face severe shortcomings in life.