To succeed in a business, one needs to know maths. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In today’s competitive economy, many believe that one needs to be knowledgeable in maths in order to excel in business. While I believe that math is indeed an important element of any worker’s skill set, I argue that it is not vital to the success of an individual; this is because whether maths is important is dependent both on the business and the position of the employee or employer holds. It is apparent that mathematical ability has increasingly been sought out by employers as a sign that the employee will succeed within a business. This proficiency in maths not only allows individuals to analyze large quantities of data, but also demonstrates the ability to think critically. Therefore, those who are talented at maths can not only help businesses predict future trends and stay one step ahead of their opponents, they might be able to assist in logistics or administrative tasks as well. This is why for example why top financial institutions and technology companies, such as Goldman Sachs and Tesla, often pay premiums in order to recruit the top mathematicians from prestigious universities. However, it could also be argued that the most successful businessmen might not need to be well versed in mathematics, since they can simply employ employees who are. Many managers and CEOs simply do not have time to do every single calculation that involves their business, and instead, focus their time on managing relationships and communicating with people. It could be said that their function is thus not to manage the business, but to manage people - their role is to find and bring out the best in people that can perform jobs better than them through specialization. In conclusion, I argue that while mathematics is certainly an important component of any business and a useful skill set for any employee, one does not necessarily need to be proficient in mathematics in order to nonetheless succeed.