With growing number of populations in cities. Many people are living in small homes that do not have outdoor spaces. Is this a positive or negative development?

It is widely known that due to overpopulation in cities, a large number of people are now living in houses that do not have space for recreational activities. I contend that this is a totally negative development. The most prominent effect of this phenomenon is the uncomfortableness caused by living in such small spaces. This is because when living in these cramped environments, people will feel like they are trapped in a cell, preventing them from doing activities like their hobbies or going out with friends. As a result, people will start to alienate themselves from the outside world, which will make their life more miserable, which can then lead to their mental health deteriorating. For example, many people living in Hong Kong are now residents of so called caged homes, which are rooms that are barely large enough to accommodate one person, while amenities such as bathrooms and kitchens are shared among the people living there, creating a living space so miserable that most people living in these accommodations often opt for suicide. Furthermore, without open spaces for the construction of public places such as parks or squares, where people can gather to hold and participate in communal activities, the community will start to lose its value. This is caused by the fact that when people are not socializing with each other, the individual citizens will not be able to identify themselves with the community. Subsequently, whenever the local area is in a desperate time of need then people living there are unlikely to cooperate with each other to overcome the problem. Therefore, the local community will stop existing as a whole, as its population will become fragmented and unable to unite when needed. In conclusion, I contend that the phenomenon of an increasing number of residents forced to live in cramped housing is an unfavorable development due to it making the lives of individuals more uncomfortable and causing communities to fragment.