Some people think that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Others, however, believe there are better alternative ways of reducing crime. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Crimes are very often happening in every nation. So relevant authorities use various mitigation measures to reduce the crime rate, however, some are still arguing that they should implement a longer prison sentence. Meanwhile, others, including myself, think that reducing crimes needs a different approach than this. Both of these statements will be discussed in this essay, stating my own opinion in the final. Considering the first argument, the extended prison sentence will be reasonable, because the criminal's intention to do wrong deeds would fade away due to this kind of severe punishment. For example, the fear of punishments significantly controlled the highest amount of traffic violations in China, after the government decided to increase their funding rate. Similarly, it would be applicable for all types of law violations. Additionally, criminals can not commit any crime within this period. As long as they have kept in distance from normal society, others in the community feel safe. Therefore, it has the potential to make a secure environment for normal citizens. The second argument is identifying alternative ways, such as rehabilitation and professional training. Usually, people intend to do inappropriate things because of their lack of understanding and knowledge. Most studies reveal that 60% of individuals in prisons have violated the law without any intention, primarily due to their emotional blindness, and unaware of its consequences. This proves that they are actually not bad persons, but they need a proper guidance and treatment to overcome their condition. Another thing is the professional training, that would serve in many ways to find a better living for these inhabitants. It had been already implemented in some countries like Germany, for instance, and after releasing from jail they tended to use those skills and knowledge that had acquired during their stay. Likewise, different approaches are there to establish the betterment of a secure society. In conclusion, while others agree with the statement that a longer prison sentence would be an ideal solution to mitigate crimes owe to the fear of it, I believe that implementing alternative ways, such as treatments and pieces of training, would serve normal people as well as punished ones. As a result, they also achieve good personality and professional skills, solving this problem.