There is a common trend for housing shortages in the city. What are the causes? What can be done to solve it?

In this day and age, the phenomenon of lacking houses in the cities is now a debating point. The writer, in light of this, contends that this situation stems from the overcrowding population in the cities and the fast speed of urbanization, especially in the industrial field, yet it can be solved by improving the transport system between rural and urban areas. Initially, cities have a substantial amount of people. That is to say, people coming from surrounding city areas or rural ones usually move to the city because of the prevalence of job opportunities available in metropolitan areas with better pay compared to the negligible wages in rural areas. As a consequence, the more people move to the metropolis, the more houses are being built for the commuters to settle down to work, while the city space for accommodation is limited, thus leading to house shortage as there is no more space left to build any house. Vietnam, for example, where too many people from the countryside move to big cities to work and live, which leads to the problem of housing shortage. Additionally, the fast pace of industrialization must also be taken into consideration. To be more specific, there are numerous factories being built in the cities to manufacture daily products for residents which require a wide range of employees to operate. Those people are employed in various regions and altogether in the city. Despite that, the infrastructure of the town such as accommodation capacities is yet to be developed fully, leading to the fact that these services are unable to fit the demands of all people. As a result, employees have to live in public apartments that are low in quality or do not have any houses at all. A solution, however, can be found in government action. Specifically, enhancing public transportation such as free buses between the two areas will be ideal since people can settle down in the countryside whilst finding a suitable occupation in the city to earn a decent salary without concern about geographical distances. Should this happen, the density of population in the cities will decrease significantly as well as reduce the burden on city accommodation, therefore acting as an incentive for a holistic improvement in either cities or rural areas. To conclude, house shortage comes from overpopulation as well as the gradual speed of industrialization. This problem, nevertheless, can be addressed by enhancing public transportation between the two areas.