The World Cup is a very important event for soccer fans all over the world. Many countries compete for the honor of hosting this event. In your opinion, what are the major benefits and drawbacks of hosting an international sporting event such as the World Cup?

For football enthusiasts around the globe, the World Cup is a major event, and a lot of nations want to host the World Cup. However, only one nation is selected for hosting this prestigious moment; further, this nation benefits from the tourism and employment opportunities generated. Nevertheless, the budget required for hosting such an event is huge and not all countries are able to sustain it. The main advantage is the vast amount of tourism attracted, resulting in generating job opportunities for the masses. For instance, Paris has recently been highlighted for hosting the Olympics and grasps tourist attention from across the globe. This helps in boosting the GDP of the country through tourists and more taxpayers. Therefore, inviting people from all parts of the world is advantageous for the nation. On the other end, cost constraints play a major role in deciding the capability of a country to host the event, as a huge budget is required for the construction of a good road network, stadiums and overall maintenance. For under-developed countries like Afghanistan and Pakistan, it is a major drawback due to the lack of resources. Hence, only wealthy nations are able to host such events. Consequently, it only benefits a few, who are already at higher GDP levels and the employment rate is very low. In conclusion, Hosting significant occasions by inviting people from the entire world is only possible for nations that are prosperous. However, they provide opportunities for growth through revenue generation from tourism and tax collection.