The most important aim of science should be to improve people's lives. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answers and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is widely accepted that there can be several purposes of science. However, I strongly agree that enhancing people's lives should be the foremost priority. In this essay, I will shed light on those reasons and explain related examples. To begin with, the development of science can lead to a nation's economic growth. To be specific, the advancement of the machinery for factories can enhance the overall effectiveness of the industry. For instance, in the 18th century, the conveyor belt was invented in the UK. A new system was able to cut off manufacturing time and to hire fewer employees than the previous era. Therefore, the UK had shown a steep rise in its GDP, which led to a massive increase in national assets. In other words, inventing new devices can be related to the prosperous economy of a nation. Furthermore, the advancement of science can also impact an individual's life in beneficial ways. Nowadays, people want to have more options in their lives and adjust them according to their own lifestyles. Though some of those options were thought to be impossible in the past, however, due to the development of science now it can be achieved in some cases. Take a good example of Korea, it was impossible for unfertilized couples to have babies until 1980. But from 1990, as in vitro fertilization technology was invented at Cha's University, those unfertilized couples could have the possibility of having babies. Since then, people have been able to choose how large their family will be. This example shows how advanced technology could affect people's lives in a positive way, by letting them choose their own life plans as they want. To sum up, while it is apparent that the aim of science could be variable, it is clear that to enhance people's lives should be the primary purpose. As the development of science can foster a nation's economy and offer multiple options to individuals, it is necessary to consider upgrading people's lives by exploring science in the future.