In some countries, there has been an increase in the number of parents who are choosing to educate their children themselves at home instead of sending them to school. Do the advantages of home education outweigh the disadvantages?

The preference of educating children at home by parents over letting them join in a traditional class setting has seen a sharp growth recently. From my point of view, this issue may do more harm than good. Without a shadow of a doubt, private education is an ideal method that brings a myriad of benefits to the learners, especially that they can freely customize their own educational syllabus. That might be due to the fact that when learning alone, children can choose the suitable subjects which are related to their own demands for future career or their strengths. This thing can not be found in any public education systems whose curriculum is required to cover all subjects to guarantee all-rounded development of pupils. To be more specific, if there is a student who is ambitious to become a neurologist or a pharmacist, he will only need to absorb math, physics, biology or chemistry. By doing so, he can save most of time and effort to highly focus on their required academic majors, which can greatly help him to easily master in this field. On the other hand, homeschooled children can miss out on a wide range of benefits provided by public school, especially lack of interactive activities with other people. In terms of teachers, students in public school can have more chances to connect and learn from abundant professionals who are knowledgeable and have been trained to impart insights while those in homeschool are only raised by their parents even some of them do not have any skills in teaching. Moreover, as for friends, privately educated children can not join in teamwork so they will lack problem solving skills, which can be a demerit for their development. Hence, homeschooled students may have to face the lack of several skills which can be an indispensable factor in the future. In conclusion, although the redeeming features of homeschooling is widely acknowledged, their children miss out on some benefits such as professional knowledge or problem-solving skills when they participate in schools. Moreover, all the benefits of homeschooling can be the same as its counterpart once parents can show their expectation to teachers to adjust the syllabus more suitable for their kids.