Some people think that detailed descriptions of crime scenes in newspapers and on TV can have a bad influence on the public, so this kind of information should be restricted in the media. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent years, it has been commonly believed that describing details about crime scenes on social platforms causes a detrimental effect on society, therefore, this information should be limited. The writer is convinced by this assumption due to the negative impact on the psychology of citizens and inappropriate for young generations. Initially, it is crucial to understand that criminal descriptions contain many cruel and immoral behaviours. To a certain extent, if residents are exposed to excessive information about crimes, they will become obsessed with violence, causing numerous effects of trauma and stress on the body. For this reason, citizens gradually lose their belief in human communities and always try to avoid meeting strange people, leading to a reduction in the social cycle. However, on condition that there is more news about criminals, citizens will know more about their behaviours and actions so as to ensure their safety for themselves. Additionally, descriptions of criminals may affect negatively children’s attitudes. To be more specific, some children have been taught about ethical values, thus, they just imitate immoral activities on social media without consideration. Indeed, the youth cannot control their impulses in their formative years, leading to even committing an offence. As a consequence, should children watch many crime scenes, this can increase the criminal rate in society, resulting in the safety of citizens under threat. In conclusion, cruel behaviours should be restricted on social media because of social trauma and unsuitable for children to understand these actions. Hence, the government may impose strict regulations to limit the appearance of immoral attitudes on the Internet.