Some cities have vehicle-free days when private cars, trucks, and motorcycles are banned from the city center. Public transportation like buses, taxis, and metros are advised. To what extent do you think the advantages of this policy outweigh the disadvantages?

It is a common belief that driving a private vehicle is the most convenient way to get to the city center. However, recently some cities have introduced vehicle-free days for several reasons. I firmly believe that this regulation has more advantages than disadvantages. In this essay, I will shed light on the reasons and examples. Firstly, days without vehicles can contribute to alleviating air pollution levels. By utilizing fewer individual cars and motorcycles, it is expected that the emission of methane will decrease which can be produced by fuel use. Also, traffic congestion in the city will be eased as well. Take a good example of Korea, for instance, since 2000 every employee who works in Seoul has not been allowed to drive their own car once a week. Later, there was a survey conducted by the environmental department released in 2010, which showed that the level of air pollutants diminished by 50% than before in 2000. This clearly shows that letting fewer individual motorists can help the environment to survive. Secondly, people can develop their academic ability by utilizing free time during their commuting hours. When people have to drive, it is hard to concentrate on studying or reading. However, when they take subways or buses to work, they have more time to read on their way. From my personal experience, in the last year, I was listening to an English radio program everyday on my way to work which took about an hour by metro from home. After a year of practising, I was able to get higher English exam scores than before. Thus, it is obvious that consuming one's commuting time to foster their academic ability can be beneficial to an individual's growth. To sum up, while it is apparent that driving their own vehicle has its own advantages, it is clear that using public transportation has a more positive impact on an individual and the environment. As vehicle-free days help reduce air pollution and foster one's academic performance, I strongly assert that its advantages outweigh its disadvantages.