Some people think that government spending on the restoration of old buildings in cities should be stopped. Instead they should spend the money for housing and road development. To what extent do you agree?

Whether governments allocate funds to rebuilding old buildings has been an issue open to debate. While some contend that the investment should be prohibited, and reallocated to other amenities such as public transportation; I argue that it is necessary for officials not only to focus on the repairment of old places but also on allocation to basic amenities. On the one hand, old buildings often have historical and architectural value, reflecting a city's cultural heritage. The tremendous amounts of financial support by authorities renders a boom of historical culture and stimulates folks' enthusiasm for heritage. These facts, in turn, contribute to a wide range of educational opportunities and boost the tourism industry. Furthermore, restoring aged constructions such as museums and ruins creates a host of employment involving draft designers, electricians, construction workers and publicists, which can boost local economies. For example, the reestablishment of the Great Wall in China, reappears the prosperity of ancient China, attracting substantial Chinese citizens and foreigners to appreciate in person, which is more sustainable than new-built constructions. On the other hand, given the happiness of residents' lives typically relating to infrastructures, governments are obliged to lay out a fortune on them. Appropriate and complete basic facilities such as an efficient drainage system, power grid and water supply are essential for improving quality of life, increasing safe levels in severe weather, and maintaining society stability. For instance, New Zealand has a thorough and comprehensive social welfare like a free medical system and subsidy for retirement, leading to low rates of immigration and crime. In addition, the complete infrastructure facilities like the traffic supporting project can appeal to investments from foreign areas for low logistics cost, raising the values of cities and promoting the economic development. To sum up, governments and husbandmen can benefit a lot through spending on both old buildings and basic amenities. On balance, I am convinced that officials should focus on infrastructures, while need to be aware of the necessity of restoration of heritages involved.