keeping animals in capitivity such as zoos has been popular, even now that they have evolved into ‘animal park ‘ or similar facilities. do you think the adventages outweigh disadvantages ?

Zoos continue to be controversial, even now that they have evolved into ‘animal parks’ or similar facilities. This issue, I personally believe, would give about more significant disadvantages that I will explain in this essay. Regarding The drawbacks that this issue may bring about, Firstly, zoos are the unnatural way in which animals live in such places. For example, captive animals do not need to hunt or raise offspring, and this means that they are not living as nature intended. Furthermore, animals probably suffer mentally when kept in captivity, even if their surroundings are spacious and similar to the natural habitat. Symptoms of mental issues range from repetitive behaviour to eating disorders, and these are often seen in captive animals. Lastly, it is often said that zoos add little to animal conservation, which is better served by preserving their habitat. Conversely, one of the benefits from this is that in most cases they offer a secure and peaceful setting for animals, for example in high quality wildlife parks or reserves. It is seen that in many cases, the animals would suffer from loss of habitat or poaching in the wild, and in captivity they are at least safe and able to breed successfully. Finally, zoos and animal parks are part of an integrated system of protecting animals, involving habitat protection, breeding programmes and disease control. This all helps to safeguard endangered species and thus preserve the global ecosystem for the future benefit of all life forms. Overall, while keeping animal in zoos are super superficially attractive, I would argue that the lack of measurability is a drawback. It is because the suffer mentally of animals for confining outweigh its potential benefits