TOPIC 2: SOME PEOPLE BELIEVE THAT SOME STUDENTS SPEND A GAP YEAR DOING VOLUNTARY WORK OR PURSUING THEIR OWN INTERESTS BEFORE STARTING UNIVERSITY LIFE. DO U AGREE OR DISAGREE?

From a traditional point of view, going to university immediately after graduating highschool was a common option. However, nowadays it is widely accepted that having a gap year before going to higher education is beneficial for various reasons, and I strongly agree with this idea. To begin with, a gap year can help individuals to find their ultimate purpose of life. As a teenager, students usually have been focused on achieving their academic performances in school, which did not leave any time to think about what they should be in pursuit otherwise. By travelling or doing part time jobs can open up opportunities to think what they want to do in the future. One of my friends in Japan, for instance, went to the Africa at her age of 19, to joining medical voluntary programs. From a week of experience, she made up her mind to major in biology and prepare for medical school to become a doctor. After 6 years, she was able to get into the medical school. Consequently, this demonstrates how new experience in their critical age could affect the rest of their life in a positive way by helping them to explore the ways for self-development. Furthermore, students can encounter various people by doing voluntary work or part time jobs, which they have not had chance to face before. In the classroom, it is more likely to get along with the people of their same age. However, from the work or day care center, it is more common to meet people from diverse backgrounds and ages. From my personal experience, when I was 20 years old, I used to go to the local day care center for seniors every Monday as a volunteer. Elderly people told me lots of enchanting anecdotes those related to their life experiences, which helped me becoming Change the form of the verb become show examples more open-minded. As a result, my volunteer experience opened up a new point of view for seeing the world. To conclude, for some people it is apparent that going to university right after graduating highschool is more of an average option. However, as a gap year can give us an original viewpoint and help us to find the core values of life, I strongly assert that one should have a chance to experience a year off before going to university.