You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. In some countries university students live at home with their family while they study, whereas in other countries students attend university in another city. Do you think the benefits of living away from home during university outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

In some countries, high school graduates continue to live with their parents while attending university, whereas, in others, students tend to enrol in an educational establishment outside of their home city. While managing life far from home can be stressful for many freshmen, I believe that unique life skills such as household organization and budgeting are so beneficial for college learners that they are worth the drawbacks. There are various benefits for students doing their schooling away from family. Independent living allows young people to acquire hands-on experience in managing their lives such as working with the landlord, designing their interiors, and doing personal budgeting. Furthermore, if students share their rent with others, they start to learn the art of relationship management. For example, some of my best friends from college are those who shared rent with me, because we not only shared a place to live but also embraced the ups and downs of college life together. That said, whether living with a friend or alone, first-time university students face numerous stressors unknown to them before, but I believe that there are viable solutions to this. For instance, without family support, students have to deal with their new challenges alone, not to mention challenging academic requirements. In such cases, higher education officials can be a treasured alternative to family in terms of student support. This is certainly true in the case of my university in the UK which used to offer all sorts of help for international students such as finding a house to rent and improving my English skills for academic purposes. In conclusion, the values of doing higher education away from home far outweigh the downsides of it. Apart from valuable life skills, if students receive support from the educational institutions that they attend, they have even higher chances to grow into well-rounded human beings, not just good students.