Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmes ( for example working for a charity, improving the neighbour or teaching sports to younger children). To what extent do you agree or disagree. Give reasons for your answer and Include any relevant examples from own knowledge or experience.

Some academics believe that community service should be included in the curriculum. I must admit that I wholeheartedly agree that students should be involved in community service because, at a young age, it is paramount to socialize while being helpful in society at the same time. Moreover, it could improve their empathy because they will interact with various kinds of people rather than learn only formal subjects. As a teenage student, it is important to learn about socializing and be part of civilization because they will contribute when they grow up, thus, involving in a social activity would benefit them. As they do social activities, they interact with new people and learn to handle different circumstances that could improve their social skills. In a charity, for example, as a member, they will organize the program and communicate with the public involved in the charity. As a result, this experience improves their teamwork and communication skills. Another reason is doing unpaid service for society is teenagers will grow their empathy. As part of a community, students will experience various circumstances and open different perspectives because they meet people from different backgrounds and conditions. While teaching in rural areas, for instance, the students will directly experience a fully different environment and they will be grateful and sympathetic at the same time. Hence, the student will have various perspectives in their lives. To conclude, it is important for schools to add social activities as part of their curriculum. It is because the students can learn to socialize and obtain experiences to meet various people, as a result, it will improve their social skills as part of society. Nevertheless, I agree that unpaid community service should be added to school programmes rather than only theory subjects.