Some people think that news media affects people in negative ways but others disagree and say that it is also positive. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is believed that news media adversely affects people, whereas some argue that it also has benefits. This writer is inclined toward the second view because it informs them of current affairs, aside from the risk of privacy invasion by gutter presses and misleading information from unverified sources. Central to this issue is the invasion of privacy coming from the media. This is particularly attributed to gutter presses that want to make money from activities that involve posting personal information of people on newspaper and social media platforms. As a result, web surfers whose personal data is exploited will suffer from unscrupulous actions by the public ranging from abusive comments or stalking to deepfaking. This is evident in many countries where the private lives of celebrities are always disturbed by media tycoons who do not even have any awareness about privacy. Another negative aspect worth considering is inaccurate data provided by untrustworthy sources. The purpose of these news providers is usually to make an easy profit from chequebook journalism or to create internal conflicts inside the government. Combined with the fact that these unreal stories have subtle differences from real ones, members of the public will often believe in them. Consequently, this will lead to mass misunderstanding among the public about the true information. For example, in many countries, citizens are confused about believing in their government as an effect of invalid news providers. This writer believes that aside from the mentioned drawbacks, news media also benefits the public with current affairs. It is evident that news is partly a form of transmitting information in a huge area with up-to-date information nationwide or worldwide. Acknowledging this, internet users will be able to know what is happening at the moment. The proof is easily seen in the way of using the media to receive the latest notices from their authorities. In conclusion, although people are at risk of receiving false news and being privately discriminated against, they can also enjoy the instant benefits of being acknowledged each second. Therefore, this author contends that news media has both positive and negative impacts on the public.