The tendency of news reporters in the media to focus more on problems and emergencies than on positive developments is harmful to the individuals and the society as a whole. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

It is claimed that media are more likely to concentrate on reporting news that contains emergency and negative information but not the positive ones about modernization is dangerous for society and people. This writer argues that individuals should know about negative news in order to raise awareness but will not lead to any harmful consequences because of the media ’s notification. It must be acknowledged that dangers like disasters, crime, etc, can have a negative impact on the community, causing more problems to solve and overwhelm the society system. To tackle this, the emergency news is designed to report on the current problems about these dangers, which are predicted to create destruction in the community. By doing this, the media can ensure people ’s safety by letting them have enough knowledge and preparation to cope with the concern, help reducing the consequences effectively. For instance, just about 10 hours before the biggest tropical storm approached, the Indonesian media reported the news about it, to help reduce damage with only injured 5 citizens recorded. Another reason is that the media can realize what can the problems lead to, so they can adjust the news just seriously enough to create recognition, but not chaos and too much worry among people, which can lead to anti-social and critical reactions toward the information. To do this, any negative news will get a notification to discourage people from following dangerous activities, or hide victims from some sensitive behaviours like sexual harassment to get rid of all misunderstandings. Take BBC News for instance, they just report about the murder that happened in 1998 but not the exact process to not encourage anyone to follow. In conclusion, although there are some concerns that the negative consequences can have a harmful impact, it is obvious that the content that is conveyed through news has been controlled to not lead to any following behaviors or unexpected chaos among people. However, it can even ensure that people know about the problem.