The only way to improve safety in our roads is to give stricter punishment for driving offenses. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In order to improve safety in roads, the only way is said to be to implement more intense abuse for those people offending driving regulations. The author strongly disagrees with this statement, indicating inefficiency, educational advocacy and public support as strong evidence. Central to this issue is the productivity of greater punishment. It should be self-evident that human beings possess intrinsic deception, in other words, they would invent numerous approaches in order to get away with their crimes. Therefore, even with stricter laws, the natural behaviour of humankind would eliminate their efficiency in the long run. Take for example, Ho Chi Minh City in Viet Nam has implemented strong regulations regarding driving offences since 2000 but no decrease has been seen in the number of traffic congestion. One should also consider utilising education in enhancing safety. It should be clear to all observers that educational programmes can have a profound impact on the thinking of teenagers who are, for the most part, the culprits of many collisions. Therefore, this method can operate effectively at the expense of fully minimized effort and time compared with stricter punishment. Reference for this case can be found in New Zealand where education is playing an indispensable role in regulating driving offences. Another point that is worth mentioning is the involvement of the public. Regular residents should be aware that their participation in propagating the need for safe travel can also be regarded as a crucial component. Consequently, this could partly ease the roam of drunk drivers on the roads, creating a better environment for traffic flow. The "Fighting For Life" campaign in Russia could serve as a prime example for this statement where ordinary citizens participate in spreading the idea of risk-free travelling, leading to an evident reduction in accidents. Thus, there is abundant evidence including ineffectiveness, educational support and individual advocacy proving stricter punishment is unnecessary. Therefore, this writer argues that retribution is not the only way to improve safety and there are way better approaches.