Write about the following topic: The internet has changed the way we communicate. Much communication today happens through social media. Some people support this and think it is a positive development. Others believe that social media have negative effects. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Some members of society say that internet has changed the way humans communicate and it has a negative effect. While some people support this notion and say it has positive effects. Although internet could be distracting and could reduced face to face interaction between people, I believe that social media offers much bigger advantages which outweighs the negative effects. Nowadays students and young adults are lost in the world of social media. This is because social media can be a place for people to post and share their personal lives to impress others. This can soon become a obsession and distraction from the real life problems. Furthermore, social media offers chatting privileges through their application, which results in people sending time chatting online rather than socializing in real life. For example, a recent survey conducted by Harvard students, showed 75% of students who performed poorly in school, spend most of their day on social media. However, I think internet can be a great tool if used properly. The Internet and social media have developed software and applications that made it possible for attending job interviews from different parts of the world from the comfort of our homes. Due to which many graduates from lower social economic backgrounds had the chance to become employed overseas. Moreover, through social media students can find communities that share the same interests and help them find solutions for different problems that they are hesitant to share with their friends and families. In Poland, for instance, most of the foreign workers did interviews using Skype, as a result, it saved them a trip and large amount of money. In conclusion, the internet can be a difficult place for people. In my view, if used wisely it can be great help of individuals and the society.