In some countries, owning a home rather than renting one is very important for people. Why might this be the case? Do you think this is a positive or negative solutions?

Possessing a house is perceived to be more important than renting one for some people in several countries. In my opinion, this is a negative solution. This essay will further elaborate on the reasons from the point of view of the younger generation. Firstly, we know that shelter is one of the primary things that humans need. However, a house is not something that affordable to everyone. Owning a home is no longer a basic need, but it also become a luxury for some people. The price of land that keeps increasing each year could be one of the problems why people are hesitant to buy a house. Take Singapore for example. Since it is not a big country in terms of size, the land is also limited causing it to be too expensive to afford especially for young people. Furthermore, a job can also be a reason for not possessing a house. For instance, some companies offer a housing facility for the employee to live. Therefore, the younger generation can have better options to spend their money on something else such as traveling. To conclude, owning a house is such a privilege in some countries because of the price, and the level of urgency. However, it could be considered more, if the option for rent is more appealing.