Nowadays people use bicycles less as a form of transport Why is this the case? What can we do to encourage people to use bicycles more ?

It is true that less bicycles are used to transport these days. This writer believes that this is because of limited commuting ability and high theft possibility, while this can be addressed by constructing bike routes that are secure. Central to this issue is the limited ability to travel of bikes that make commuters do not use them. One should acknowledge that bikes are two-wheel vehicles that have to share the same lane with other vehicles of the same category. Combined with the fact that traffic congestion usually happens on roadways, bike users will have less chance to travel between destinations effectively. For example, bikers will spend a long time to travel to their destination during poor traffic conditions. Another reason that should also be considered is bikes are more likely to be stolen. It should be noted that compared to cars and other vehicles, bikes ’ security system is far plainer. Acknowledging this, thieves often target these means of transport to conduct thefts. This can be observed in many suburban areas where bike lost reports are the norm as these are primary travelling methods of the area. For that reason, people often prefer using vehicles that have higher security over bikes. However, this can be addressed by the government proposing constructions of secure bike lanes. For maximum efficiency to be achieved, bike stations with complimentary locks must be provided. By doing so, bike users will not only be able to travel faster but can also ensure that their bikes are safe. This is increasingly applied in countries where bike schemes are popular as a method of encouraging travellers to use bikes. Taking all points into account, the root of this phenomenon is the limited ability of travelling and low security of bikes. Therefore, this author contends that constructing secure bike lanes can be a viable solution for this.