Many university students want to learn about different subjects in addition to their main subjects. Others feel it is more important to give all their time and attention to studying for their qualification. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Many students would like to learn different subjects which are not related to their majors. Others like to focus on their majors wholeheartedly because they want to be the experts quickly. For me, it is good to study one or two completely different subjects, and I will explain why in the following paragraphs. On the one hand, it is good for your career, if you have double majored in your school. If you study finance and computer science together, then you will probably be hired as a technological engineer, analyst, specialist, and so on in a financial institution. Now, banks, insurance companies, accounting firms, and so forth are eagerly searching those talented people. If you only learn one skill in college, you may not be qualified enough to work in those organizations, because they are so picky. On the other hand, if you learn many things at one time, then you will not be able to understand every course totally, due to the limited time. Most people I know just have one dream, and they only want to be one type of person. For example, my mom is a doctor, and this is the job she likes the most. She is not interested in being a lawyer, police, teacher, and the like. As a result, she will not learn any other things associated with those fields, and she will not resign from her job. In a nutshell, combining two subjects may be good for your future. Currently, companies like this kind of job seeker. However, for many of us, to be a professionalist is quite difficult, and we do have time and enthusiasm for other things.