Some people believe that individuals cannot improve environment, but only governments and big companies can make a difference. To what extent do you agree or disagree

Environmental issues have long been a concern for many, and today, no one would deny the importance of protecting the environment. As for how to achieve this end, I think it calls for collective actions from individuals, big companies and the government. It is indisputable that some environmental problems people are facing today may seem too big for individuals to address alone, such as climate change, energy crisis, ozone depletion and so forth. Consequently, many people have the misconception that only the government and large companies have the authority, funds and manpower to solve them. Unfortunately, such an attitude is merely something that stems from ignorance or illusion of inadequency. The fact is that without individual efforts, any rules and regulations or large projects designed to improve the environment will, without a doubt, end in failure. So individuals ' participation is necessary and actually irreplace along with the actions taken by the government and big companies. More importantly, it is universally acknowledged that all the seemingly little things people do in daily lives, when added up, make a huge difference in contributing to solutions, for example, recycling household waste, reducing evergy consumption such as water and electricity, refusing the use of non-biodegradable or disposable products like plastic bags and one-off chopsticks, and taking more public transportation rather than driving around in private cars. Plainly, all the above-mentioned actions or endeavours individuals do can greatly bring down the carbon footprints. Overall, if more individuals start to make a change in their daily lives, a brand new environmental status quo might come into existence. From what has been discussed and analyzed above, I think it is a comprehensive task to tackle the environmental problems, which necessitates the coordination and collaboration of individuals, enterprises and the government, even at an international level. Nonetheless, one thing that must be certain is that any efforts would be less effective without individuals ' involvement.