Some people say history is one of the most important school subjects. Other people think that in today ‘s world subjects like Science and Technology are more important than History. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

There is a controversial discussion of which lesson is of ultimate importance in an academic curriculum. Some contend that History is the most significant whilst others are of the opinion that Science and Technology are more crucial than History. As far as I am concerned, I will explore both views and will come up with my own opinions in this essay. Firstly, it is true that young people should be aware of their evolution that provides knowledge about their cultures and also gives them identity. Moreover, by learning about their cultures and traditions, they will be able to impart them to the next generations. As a result, in the coming era, these values can be maintained for future generations. For instance, History is a mandatory subject for Malaysian students taking the government exams and required to pass with minimum gredes for universities and colleges admission in Malaysia. Hence, young people will learn to appreciate the pre-historic period and the formation of Malaysia. Secondly, although History is a significant lesson, one cannot deny the importance of Science and Technology especially in this modern era. This is because the demand for technical skills with IT, computing and programming skills are more in the job market and comes with good money. The most lucrative and overpaid jobs, for example, are the IT masters and programmers whose skills are needed by the international and local companies to improve and hone their reputation and publicity globally. Hence, Science and Technology are equally important lessons like any others. To conclude, I am convinced that both the history and science and technology subjects are important in the school curriculum so that future adults will always have a sense of belonging and also progress in careers.