Write about the following topic: Some people believe that history has no value in the contemporary world. But some believe that we still need history to learn from the past. Discuss both viewpoints and give your opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

When considering the importance of history, some claim that there is no benefit to learning the subject because it has no application in modern society. It is my opinion that history must be carefully studied and thoroughly discussed, as past mistakes can shape how we solve present-day issues. The main criticism of history arises from the fact that it diverts the limited resources and attention away from ongoing issues. Most believe that money should be spent on more pressing matters, such as solving the housing crisis or reducing unemployment rates. This mainly stems from the fact that history is often regarded a boring subject at school. For example, a recent study showed that over 70% of students studying at the secondary level would remove history from their syllabus if given the opportunity. However, if taught properly, the masses can be influenced to make correct choices regarding policies. Learning from the motives behind several movements and the outcomes of past actions has often shaped the population's opinions, which in turn has had a positive effect on decision-making. There have been several instances of societies being able to uplift themselves by adopting certain practices, or by avoiding harmful ideas that would prevent progress. One such example is the granting of universal voting rights to all Indian citizens upon their independence from British rule, which as a result has prevented additional decade-long struggles by marginalised groups for equality. It is often said that those who are unaware of history are doomed to repeat it. It is therefore essential to manage resources and teach history effectively so that progress can be made without delaying ongoing developments.