In some countries there are more young people choosing to enrol in work-based training instead of attending university. Do the advantages of this situation outweigh the disadvantages?

There has recently been a shift in the attitude toward higher education. Many today are opting for work-based training, rather than conventional university courses. Although learning from work experience can be cheaper and more efficient, the lack of formal education can result in issues with the quality of the working population. Finances play a key role in determining whether students get enrolled in universities. It is often seen that the university experience can only be afforded by the wealthy. For instance, well-renowned engineering schools often charge exorbitant fees from applicants, who in turn acquire large debts to complete their education. In light of this, work-based training proves advantageous, as young people have the capability to support themselves as they learn, without having to opt for student loans. Furthermore, such methods are time-efficient, as students need not waste 3-4 years before earning. This is especially helpful for poor families where the young adults must support their elders. However, the quality of knowledge from universities can not be ignored. These institutions follow a syllabus designed by highly trained professionals and the experience obtained is unparalleled to its alternatives. Students who attend universities receive training that makes them more desirable to employers resulting in better job offers and higher salaries. It must therefore be regarded as an investment, rather than a waste of time and resources. To summarise, the significant role that universities play in the development of society must be considered, and it cannot be outweighed by the benefits of pure practical training.