Some cities have vehicle-free days when private cars, trucks and motorcycles are banned from the city center. People are encouraged to use public transportation such as buses, taxis and metro on vehicle-free days. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

There is no denying the fact that with an increasing number of people, transportation problems also increase. While it is a commonly held belief that some cities have vehicle-free days where private cars, trucks, and motorcycles are not allowed to enter the city center, there is also an argument that opposes it. This essay will analyze this topic from both points of view and express my opinion. On one hand, encouraging individuals to use public transportation could significantly reduce greenhouse gases. In other words, cars are one of the primary contributors to pollution, and reducing their use could help improve our environment. Additionally, many cities today suffer from traffic congestion, so implementing vehicle-free days could be a potential solution. For instance, when Japan established its metro system, it minimized crowding on various high streets and reduced noise pollution. On the other hand, some people have special needs and cannot easily use buses, and taxis can be costly. Moreover, banning cars, motorcycles, and trucks could disrupt the daily operations of individuals and businesses. For example, if you order a pizza, your delivery might be delayed due to this law, affecting both customers and businesses. In conclusion, there are no easy answers to this question. On balance, however, I tend to believe that vehicle-free days could help our environment in the long term by reducing pollution and traffic congestion. While there are some drawbacks, the benefits to the environment and overall quality of life make it a worthwhile consideration.