It is more important to use the space in cities well than make them beautiful. To what extend do you agree?

It is generally accepted that most megacities cities are running out of space due to population growth alongside developments. Even though most cities want to maintain their beauty, in my opinion, governments should maximize the space available for more useful projects. There is a tendency to believe that compact cities could ruin their beauty. But it needs to be taken into account that the world is growing at a rapid pace. Therefore countries need to use their land effectively. For instance, Singapore is generally known as a small country but they are able to be one of the fastest growing countries. Their city plan is very compact which could be a bad influence on their beauty but as a result, the country is able to keep up with the rest of the world. Second, a primary factor for consideration is population. Experts believe that the population of the world is increasing rapidly. It is said that younger generations are moving into larger cities to find a job. Resulting in a problem where cities would need more housing for people to live in. For this reason, I think the government should take into consideration better city planning. More affordable housing could lead to growth in society. Taking everything into consideration, although some might argue that aesthetics is key to a good city, I still think that efficiency is the main objective for most cities, therefore maximizing the space available in each city will prevent the country from falling behind on the progression of the world.