These days, a majority of animals are kept in zoos in order to save them from becoming extinct. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

It is an irrefutable fact that recently zoos have become much more prevalent due to the role of keeping a diverse range of wildlife,and they are always believed to be the best method to protect endangered species. However, there are both pros and cons of doing so. In this essay, I will discuss some of the reasons associated with their popularity, and I will also argue why they are not a suitable place for animals to remain. Let’s begin by investigating the merits of preserving animals in cages, one of the main positives of zoos is that they have a significant impact on wildlife conservation,meaning that when animals stay in cages they are often protected by some risks related to starving to death as well as being eaten by dominant predators, thus making animals have a prolonged and safer life. Besides, zoos play an integral part in animal learning schemes, allowing scientists to study animals and their behaviour. Namely, by thorough examination,scholars could find out more information that can help to cure animals when they are ill or hurt. For example, If an animal has lost its appetite thanks to some reasons, this can be identified after having been looked into closely, thus helping the animal to recover. However, these experiments should be carried out in a more humane way. Turning to the other side argument, animals tend to lose their hunting instinct in captivity,meaning that they always rely on humans, as they provide their daily food supply. It is publicly known that most predators have special skills such as the lion and the leopard while chasing after their prey. However, they could lose those abilities as long as zoo keepers constantly feed them in cages, thus making them more vulnerable to hunting when released later. Moreover, almost all zoos seem to have one common goal: to make a profit as much as possible. To clarify, today most animals are brought to zoos in order to make money by allowing visitors to enjoy watching them. Therefore, in most cases, animals are considered a way of entertainment and a way of earning some profit, losing the importance of living creatures. In summary, Zoos have a profound influence on individuals in terms of letting us know more about fauna living side by side. I personally believe that the advantages of zoos like endangered species conservation and the chance to study them more closely far outweigh the disadvantages.