Parents of obese children should be punished for making them fat. Do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that parents with children who are overweight should be punished for making them obese. This essay will disagree with this statement because some parents are not knowledgeable about obese and some children are generally born big and cannot control their eating habits and what they eat. Firstly, it is believed that knowledge is power. Unfortunately, some parents have no or little knowledge about obese. They believe that a child has to eat and finish whatever is put on their plates and if they cry for more, they must be given whatever they want. They do not know that, by so doing, they are making their children obese. For example, in some African nations, there is a belief that says that if a child cries for food that means that their parents are stingy if they don’t give that child what he or she wants. Hence, children become obese by continuously eating whatever they ask for. Secondly, some babies generally have big bodies and they consume more food. The same babies continuously seek for more food and have bad eating habits. Parents need to understand that babies cannot be allowed to eat all the time and that they should not eat whatever they desire to consume. Many times children desire to partake sweet foods or drinks, for instance, sweets, cakes, fizzy drinks or fatty foods that cause them to be obese if not controlled. They need to be taught that some foods are not good for them and that they have a negative impact on their bodies, hence, we have obese children. Some end up being sick with diarrhoea, stomach problems and teeth aches or rotten teeth. In conclusion, punishing parents for causing their children to be obese, as viewed by other people, will not help because some are not knowledgeable about obesity, hence their children are obese.