task 2: the use of social media is replacing face-to-face interaction among many people in society

The idea of social media having replaced the role of direct communication is gaining more traction in society. While this has admittedly certain benefits, I would contend that these are overshadowed by the drawbacks. On the one hand, interacting through social platforms can be advantageous to a particular extent. Foremost among these is to save a large amount of time. That said, instead of spending time on transportation to move from one place to another one, which can occupy up to several hours, people can access their social media accounts such as a Facebook account to make up online meetings with family, relatives, or their lovers as simultaneously as they want. Another advantage could not be skipped is that the flexibility of locations where people interact, especially to the ones who live far away from them. This means, that if a Vietnamese person wishes to have a meeting with an American person, who is half of the Earth’s cycle from his or her, then social networks with high-speed data transmission allow them to do that without any objections or limitations. On the other hand, I am convinced that the aforementioned benefits pale in significance when compared to the disadvantages of lacking face-to-face interaction. One legitimate concern revolves around the potential risks of hackers stealing users’ information, which can not be ensured to be completely private on social media space and can be stolen through gaps. For instance, recently Vietnam cyber security agency has recently recorded many cases of individuals whose voices and gestures were created and imitated through artificial intelligence and then shown to their acquaintances when making video calls by hackers for the purposes of defrauding money. Another drawback is that indirect communication limits physical interactions such as hugs, kisses, and hand-shakings. These physical connections play an important role in developing advanced communication skills, identifying and maintaining others’ emotions for better efficiency in communication, and improving body language in specific contexts as well. Had there not been any social interaction, there would have not been a society where human beings dominate any other kinds of primate animals. In conclusion, despite certain advantages of communicating through social media, I am of the opinion that its drawbacks are far more pronounced.