You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Some people want governments to spend money looking for life on other planets. Others, however, think this is a waste of public money when there are so many problems on earth. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. You should write at least 250 words.

Nowadays, our planet has too many problems that seem like we could never solve, such as global warming, natural disasters, overpopulation, and many more. For that reason, some people ask the current government to publicly fund a plan to look for life on other planets in our universe. This sparks an argument between the people who are against and in favor of that scheme. The most common argument from people who are in favor of a public fund for space exploration related to life on other planets is that we could never solve the problems that we are currently having on our Earth. According to them, we have passed our salvage point, where we could never revert everything bad we have done to our earth. Therefore, we have to start searching for another place to live and migrating there afterwards. On the other hand, space exploration is an expensive thing. So far, the farthest place we have managed to send humankind is the moon. It means that we are not even able to be out of our solar system yet. As a consequence, an effort to search for Planet B needs extensive time and costs a large sum of money. Hence, people who are against it argue that this effort is only a waste of money and we should be focusing on solving our current problems instead. In my opinion, space exploration research is important, and we should not stop that effort to search for life in our universe. However, I think we should spend more money on other things that we need to solve, like climate change, instead of funding space exploration. Besides, if we are able to find a new planet for us to live on, it does not mean that the extraterrestrial life will accept us to live there. If such is the case, then are we sure that we will not destroy Planet B like we destroy our Earth? All-in-all, interstellar exploration is a field that we should not stop doing a research in. Nonetheless, we should not increase the public budget in terms of looking for Planet B. Instead, we should allocate more funds towards mitigating and adapting to our current problem.