In many countries, governments spemd large amounts of money on the arts and this is supported by some taxpayers as worthwhile. Others, however think that this money would be better spent on health and education. To what extent do you agree or disagree with these opinions? Discuss, based on your knowledge and experience.

We see that many countries especially situated in Asia, focus more on health and education rather than arts. This is because it is backed by the people paying taxes in those areas. I strongly agree with this viewpoint and will discuss it in detail in the following paragraphs. Firstly, Governments in many countries are limited in spending their money and they prioritize their tasks accordingly. The most important factor in the eyes of the state is to save human lives and provide them with education for a better future. Individuals are struggling to find jobs that pay well and fulfil their necessities which could be achieved if they have the right knowledge and are physically fit. For example, in Canada, scholarships are being granted to students who opt for Masters studies and do some research in their field. Also, I believe, the initiative taken by the state to support the educational system is helping the technological advancement in the utilization of limited resources available in a better way. Secondly, health and education directly affect the individual's life whereas Arts only contribute to the leisure part of one's life. This means that if a person is feeling sick could face severe consequences if not being treated and if one is not properly informed could end up being dependent on others for his livelihood which is not the case with having lack of artistic activities. For example, during the pandemic government provided health assistance and subsidies to save lives and prioritized saving people above all other factors. To conclude, it is considered to the benefit of the state that the folks are both physically and mentally healthy. To fulfill it, they spent the most money on upgrading their departments that provide such assistance and not on leisure artistic stuff.