Today, many people do not know their neighbours in large cities. What problems does this cause? What can be done about this?

In the contemporary world, people are busier with their lives compared to people in the past. For this reason, many individuals these days don’t know their neighbours at all or barely know their names. This problem can lead to a multitude of negative consequences, but steps can definitely be taken to tackle this issue. The first and most important result of this problem is that people cannot socialise and feel lonelier. Many anti-depression medicines are used by people who live in large cities. Secondly, when people don’t interact with each other in a neighbourhood, they cannot and don’t help each other in dire situations; for instance, I lived in a village for 12 years when I was a child. When we needed help, we called our neighbours, who helped us gently. Lastly, knowing neighbours can be beneficial in children's upbringing. When neighbours know each other, their children can communicate with each other and play in a safe and more reliable environment. Problems related to not knowing neighbours in large cities could definitely be addressed. I believe people should spend more time with their neighbours. Of course, it could be hard for some people who have a busy life, but sharing weekend days could be a good approach for interacting with each other. Also, inviting neighbours to special celebrations and ceremonies could be another good attitude for getting to know and communicating with each other. At the same time, governments should inform people about the benefits of community relations and encourage people to communicate with their neighbours. In conclusion, the issues related to not knowing neighbours in big cities will remain unless people and governments take measures to tackle the problem.