Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

The fact that a person settling in a foreign country needs to speak their language can raise social interaction issues and real-life hardships. I fully agree with this statement and in this essay, I will demonstrate how the linguistic barrier causes problems. Firstly, individuals trying to build a life in a foreign society can face many practical problems, namely interpersonal issues, in their day-to-day lives. In other words, they are unable to make a (comprehend) a conversation due to misinterpretation of their meaning which then leads to cultural conflicts. The result would be the exclusion of the foreigners from the target society (The result would be the foreigners being excluded from the target society). For example, calling someone by their first name is a way to show friendliness and warmth in Vietnam but it is considered disrespectful in the Japanese culture. Consequently, many international students try to keep their cultural heritage acts, like such greetings to a minimum, so as not to irritate (offend) their classmates and avoid unwanted arguments. Another issue is the incompetence in completing simple daily tasks. To explain further, verbal limitations can hinder outsiders' ability to perform social tasks efficiently. For example, such limitations can create issues for international students in their studies or foreign workers in terms of the complexities of essential services, such as healthcare, education, and legal assistance. However, this problem can be overcome by effectively studying (practising) the language of the country they are living in and using translation apps. In conclusion, I believe most people have to deal with linguistic problems following moving to a new country due to their lack of ability (incapacity) to speak in their language and understand situations, Therefore, it is advisable to try to learn the local language fully as to ease the difficulties of the circumstances.