Many people nowadays spend a large part of their free time using a smartphone. What do you think are the reasons for this? Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Recently, technological advancements have increased dramatically, and the vast majority see technology a defining feature of modern living. In my perspective, prolonged usage is detrimental for many reasons and the disadvantages overtook the advantages. There are several reasons to overuse cell phones, sharing knowledge by using smartphones much easier. For instance, so many people learning different languages on platforms and online websites with specialist tutors or joining a group. In addition, there is a big chance to know people from another culture. For example, I joined a group to improve my English fluency and in the same time I made beautiful friendships. On the other hand, I slightly agree with the dangers of spending overtime using phones and that is because variety reasons. In my opinion, the main reason is the side effect of light screens and blue lights. these lights cause eye strain, tension, headache, and impaired cognitive. Also, the addictions to smartphones decrease face-to-face encounters and make them more procrastinators. Furthermore, excessive use could make physical and psychological health problems. In conclusion, it is true that technology develop our life with high quality facilities, but I believe that the negative impact overtook the positive. I hope that everybody can balance both digital and real life to have a better future.