Many people today find they have insufficient time to spend with their families, because of pressures of work. What problems does this create for individuals and their families? What solutions can you propose? Which would be the most effective solution, in your view?

Excessive time spent at work can ultimately take a serious toll on workers and their families in various ways. We will discuss the most serious problems arising, and also two ways in which the situation can be improved. Arguably the gravest problem caused by overwork is the stress that the workers themselves suffer from. When a person is working long hours, and thinking about work even outside that time, the ability to relax is severely curtailed. This can rapidly lead to physical exhaustion and mental anxiety, which eventually undermine the victim's overall wellbeing. A further serious impact is the disruption to family relationships, especially with a spouse and children. Family members may soon become accustomed to the absence of a father or mother, damaging the natural bonds which bind a family together and potentially eroding the security of the family unit itself. The long term consequent problems of family breakdown may include depression, poor self-esteem and academic underperformance. To counteract these dangers, perhaps the most effective and most immediate solution would be for employers to incorporate a fixed amount of free time into their workers ' schedules. For example, companies might commit to a 'no work, phone calls or emails after five pm' policy, as is being suggested in Germany at present. This would lessen the anxiety of high workloads and preserve family time. Another remedy may be to promote the use of relaxation techniques among workers, so that they make the most of the free time that they have. Activities ranging from sport to yoga or family events can be used to maximise any opportunities for de-stressing that already exist. In conclusion, the main problems seem to be stress and potential family breakdown. The key solution would be the formal protection of leisure time, together with better use of it by workers themselves.