In certain nations, parents have high academic expectations for their children, resulting in limited leisure time. What could be the potential benefits and drawbacks of this for the children and the society they are part of

In today’s globalised world, it is notable that many parents from all over the world demand their offspring to pay more attention to their education. Their offspring are buried with books every day, which leads to a lack of time for other activities. However, what are the reasons for such parents ’ expectations from their children and what are the positive and negative effects on the society? In this essay, I will provide some insights and shed light on this position. To begin this, the major reason why parents put huge demands on their kids is because they want to make their offspring successful. For instance, most parents from East Asia expect more achievements in education and other fields from their offspring. The younger population from these countries spend about 16-18 hours a day on the study. One of the positive sides of intensive studying is the opportunity to enrol in top universities and find well-paid jobs. Besides this, better-off parents hire teachers for additional lessons. However, some less well-off parents cannot afford this luxury for their kids, because education fees are very high in the best universities. On the other hand, this kind of approach has its disadvantages. First of all, this action leads to mental health issues among younger people. Those who fail exams or cannot enter the university might commit suicide. This in turn destroys the public perception of education policy in the society. So, many people think that higher education should be free for everybody. For instance, Germany offers free tertiary education both for all national and international students. Overall, the education system is one of the significant aspects of the nation, but education policy should be more flexible in some countries. Parents in these situations will become less strict with their children.