In the developed world, the average life expectancy is rapidly increasing. What problems will this cause for individuals and the society? Suggest some measures that could be taken to reduce the impact of ageing populations.

The average number of years a person can expect to live has fluctuated across the globe in recent years. Many industrialized nations, though, are experiencing an increase in life expectancy at a substantial rate. This essay will discuss some of the negative consequences associated with this trend and how societies can contribute to diminishing its effects. As populations of developed countries grow older, several related problems are anticipated. For one, the ageing population can bring about rising costs to society. If a large amount of the population is elderly or retired, the budget that governments must provide for retirement funds will automatically rise. This obviously creates a great financial burden for younger generations who pay taxes. Furthermore, since older members of society require more specialized medical care when their health worsens, medical facilities may become overwhelmed with patients and the health care system can collapse. However, there are some steps that both governments and individuals can take to tackle the problems described above. One simple solution would be to extend the retirement age to offset increasing costs from older generations. This can alleviate pressure on governments and help them focus more on other essential economic sectors which may require more investment, such as infrastructure and education. Such extension would also allow the ageing population to pass on their knowledge to less experienced workers in their respective fields, which is a great advantage for any particular business. The promotion of medical advancements in the health care industry is another viable option that should be taken into account. With newer and more advanced medical care, senior citizens will be able to live with better health standards and require less medical treatment, thus preventing further problems for the health care system. These medical breakthroughs could also help future generations to monitor their health better as they grow older. Various measures can be implemented to avoid the potential risks arising from the ageing population. It is crucial that both individuals and governments collaborate well in this venture.