People are less fit and active nowadays than in the past. What are the reasons for this? What measure can be taken to fix this?

In the contemporary world, the rate at which people are contracting obesity is higher than ever, significantly impacting the entire earth's population. It is my contention that the rationale behind this trend is due to two major contributing factors; fast food and people living a sedentary lifestyle. While the modern way of life keeps pushing people to sustain these unhealthy activities, personal determination and government interruption can offset the negative impacts of this phenomenon. First and foremost, the biggest factor why people have been becoming less active over the years is the lifestyle that they pursue. For example, it is now a rare occasion to experience playing children outside as a majority of them spend their time in the cyber world, playing video games without even burning a single calorie. It goes without saying that the development of technology is the key factor for people to transform from active to inactive lifestyles. Another important point related to this matter is the hectic work schedule of people in big corporations. To cite as an example, modern people are taking longer shifts than people back in the 1900s which hinders them from committing to healthy lifestyles. Addressing this issue requires a multifaceted approach. Firstly, a public awareness campaign can educate individuals about the importance of regular exercise during the specific times of the day and a balanced diet. Schools and workplaces can promote healthy lifestyle activities during the breaks by furnishing their facilities with a gym and other necessary sports portals. Furthermore, policies can be implemented to regulate the quality of food that is consumed by the people. Encouraging healthier eating habits through taxation on sugary drinks and junk food, along with subsidies for fruits and vegetables, can make healthier options more affordable and attractive. In conclusion, the decline in fitness and physical activities is a multifaceted issue influenced by sedentary lifestyles, and poor dietary and work habits. Addressing this challenge requires concentrated efforts from individuals, communities and governments in order to promote full-scale awareness in establishing a healthier society.