Many people in poor countries die from diseases that are curable because they cannot afford the medication required. Do you believe that drug companies should make their products available at reduced prices in these countries? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

A rising number of deaths in underdeveloped countries by commonly non-fatal diseases is due to a lack of finances in war-ridden regions. In my opinion, pharmaceutical companies should provide subsidies on their rates according to the paying capacity of each country. This essay will prove how this can be an extremely viable, economical and ethical solution. Firstly, it is imperative to point out that the increasing death toll is due to poverty and lack of availability of proper medications. In these third-world countries, people are deprived of even the essentials required to survive. This is due to the crash in their economies, leading to recession. Secondly, unemployment has made it impossible for them to earn and provide for themselves, deeming them totally dependent on the government for provisions. For example, in Ukraine, the only way people get food and housing is through the refugee camps set up by their government. This poses a heavy burden for the banks of these already in-debt countries. To tackle this issue, the United Nations should agree upon a worldwide treaty ordering all drug-producing companies to supply certain nations with medications at a reasonable cost. This could be at a non-profit department set up in the system of each of the medical suppliers. this would indefinitely result in increased survival of citizens residing there. For instance, the Indian company that produced covi-shield supplied millions of vaccines for minimal rates across the globe in hours of need, without considering the financial drawbacks which helped save countless people. In desperate times, it is the moral duty of mankind to take steps towards our survival and towards instilling the ethical cornerstone, for future generations to follow. To conclude, the aforementioned discussion, in my strong opinion a treaty regarding provisions of drugs at reasonable rates should be signed. This contribution by the pharmaceutical industry would undoubtedly have a positive impact on the well-being of humans across the globe.