Some people that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

A group of individuals present the view that the most significant environmental problem of today’s world is the extinction of some species of plants and animals, whereas, others believe that there are more substantial environmental difficulties. In my opinion, we have to consider both ideas and find solutions for them. On the one hand, some people justifiably argue that issues like global warming are of paramount importance and we need to consider them more often. They present the sound argument that global warming which is known as the greenhouse effect, will bring about major threats to our planet. Rising temperatures will cause the melting of the polar ice caps, furthermore, sea levels will rise and we have to expect more extreme weather conditions. Moreover, flooding and droughts may become more common in the future. On the other hand, another group of people claim that we have to emphasise more than ever on extinction and decreasing the number of particular animals and plants. They insist that natural areas and rare animals should be protected by governments because if they become extinct, our life cycle would be in great danger which leads to several irreparable problems. Although this is a major complexity and we should definitely take steps to remedy this situation, however, I do not find this argument as the most important problem of the planet Earth and there are numerous problems that we have to consider and find solutions for as we do for the issue of animals and plants extinction. To conclude, in my view, we should view all the environmental problems as the most important ones. I believe issues like global warming which gives rise to numerous adverse effects on our planet and the important problem of decreasing the number of rare species are equally important.