Some people believe that governments should have access to people’s mobile phone call records and messages for safety reasons. Others believe that this information is private and should not be available without permission. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

Some people believe that government access to phone call records and messages will contribute to safety and security. However, this also poses a risk of breaching the personal life and liberty of the public, which would be unconstitutional and dangerous. This essay will further provide reasons to support both sides and will offer an opinion at the end. The government is responsible for the safety and security of the people within its jurisdiction and to uphold this, they may practice security measures that involve breaching personal data. The state might need such information to maintain national sovereignty or when there is a national threat. For example, Israel developed software named "Pegasus" that can be used to extract personal information and is used by the state to remove threats within the country or at the international level. On the other hand, people also have the right to life, which is a constitutional right stating that their personal data cannot be used by the country in any form unless there is a security issue. The power should not be absolute as it could be used negatively, with state officials potentially using it to suppress opposition and remain in power. For example, in India, some opposition leaders alleged that their phones were hacked by the government and were warned by Apple about this. In my opinion, there should be a limit to the extraction of mobile phone data and it should not be used as a method to control the public. To conclude, it should be kept in mind by the departments that practice such methods that they should only be used to uphold the sovereignty of the country and not for personal gain by any political party in power.