In many countries, the government prioritises economic growth above all other concerns. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this.

Economic growth is a sphere that the state considers over other domains. The main reason that this could be beneficial to the economy is that it results in the increase in job opportunities, and also the income of the citizens. Its drawbacks are increased cost of living, and it makes the life of the poor difficult. On the one side, the government can open up more businesses to promote economic growth, which requires more workers to operate. In addition, this solves the issue of unemployment that many countries are facing. Moreover, not only does the economy will be more powerful, but also the citizens become affluent. When the companies generate more profit, it reflects how much money the economy makes. For instance, in Poland, 30 years after communism collapsed, the income of middle-management positions had tripled. On the other side, as a country's economy thrives, the cost of living increases. The most compelling reason could be the fact that when the worker's wages increase, their services become more expensive, which increases the prices of products. As a result, it can make some people's life more difficult. Moreover, when a government prioritizes economic expansion, it offers little support for those who need it. If authorities believe that a strong economy is of the greatest importance, they are rather reluctant to offer help to those who do not contribute to the nation’s prosperity. To illustrate, when Donald Trump, who was a big advocate of a strong economy, became the president of the USA, the funds for jobless migrants were caught. In conclusion, as with anything in life, prioritizing economic growth by authorities has its pros and cons. While more have jobs that allow them to become wealthy, costs of living are going up, and those who need to rely on the social care system are marginalized.