Write about the following topic: Some people say that learning a foreign language is a very difficult task. What are the most difficult things about learning a foreign language? What is the best way to overcome them? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words. You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

There has long been a saying that acquiring a language that is not your first language or mother tongue is considered an extremely challenging and daunting task. It is beyond doubt that there are several factors that contribute to the said claim, namely unfamiliarity with the foreign language, and hard retention of the different facets of the language. This essay will delve deeper into the underlying reasons for the difficulties encountered by language learners and resolutions to surmount those challenges. Unfamiliarity with the second or foreign language is the prime obstacle language learners face while embarking on their language learning journey. Pursuant to a linguistic study conducted by the Education University of Hong Kong, over 70% of the respondents propose that they find language learning particularly difficult owing to the lack of association between the foreign language and the mother tongue. Specifically, the notion such as filial piety is not present in English culture, which sometimes makes it hard for second language learners to communicate their ideas effectively. This leads to the second challenge that is commonly found between language learners: difficulty in retaining the vocabulary and grammar. Linked with the first point, as people are not acquainted with the origin and rationale behind the language; for instance, how the sentence is constructed, and where are the idioms like ‘bite the bullet’ and ‘burn the midnight oil’ originate from, many language learners express their frustration when attempting to learn a foreign language effectively. To nip the problem in the bud, it is of paramount importance to understand the culture and rationale underneath to better retain the grammatical structures and lexicons that have been introduced in formal and informal educational contexts. By way of illustration, when learning a language; for instance, English, it would be most memorable if learners comprehend the idiom like ‘bite the bullet’ coming from the context of the war where soldiers had to get through tough times. To recapitulate, learning a foreign language is a very difficult and challenging task given their unfamiliarity with the foreign language, and hard retention of the different facets of the language.