It is the ultimate desire of all people to live in a wonderful society. What, from your point of view, are the main characteristics of such a society? Can individuals do anything to make it happen?

Throughout human history, it has been one of the main concerns of humanity to make a utopian society materialize, an attempt which has never achieved complete success. To serve this purpose, the criteria based on which a perfect society is defined should be clarified, as well as the role that every individual can play in this process. Every human community needs laws, to regulate the interaction between individuals and minimize the possibility of any conflict. The creation of laws naturally necessitates the establishment of an institution to implement laws, and punish any violation, what is most commonly referred to as the government. The first characteristic feature of an ideal society, in fact, lies here. Historical experience suggests that political power has always been associated with totalitarianism and corruption, so a perfect society is first characterized by a perfect government. Following a long period of trial and error, mankind has come to this conclusion that democracy is probably the most sensible way to rule a society, because it minimizes the probability of dictatorship. This is why an ideal society should have a responsible government selected by and accountable to every single citizen. Although class divisions are unavoidable and necessary, class conflicts have never been desirable in society. A perfect human community is the one in which every single citizen reserves and exercises the right to grow and prosper, regardless of the social or economic class that they belong to, religion, political view or any other factor that might be the cause of discrimination. A society in which a privileged minority enjoys all facilities and possibilities in education and career can never be an ideal one. In fact, class differences are permitted as long as they are caused by the efforts of individuals to attain success, not as a result of external factors which are beyond one's control. So, a good human community can also be characterized by the even distribution of wealth among all citizens. Many sociologists hold the view that the process of enhancing a society always starts from individuals. It is people who constitute a community so it would be naive to assume that a perfect society comes into existence without the participation of every single person. The most critical step towards this goal is to raise public awareness. The so-called utopia requires the people who are aware of their rights and responsibilities, the conditions of their community and the world, and the course of action they should take to lead a better life. Every new book read by a citizen, then, is a positive step towards this perfect society. Besides, every member of a community should feel responsible for the ongoing affairs, and the way they can effectively participate in improving the situation. Helping a labour child to go to school, for example, can minimize the risk of that child turning to crime in adulthood, which makes us closer to the concept of an ideal society. In brief, I believe that living in a desirable society is similar to climbing the Everest. It is a very ambitious goal indeed but it entails taking small, seemingly trivial, steps. We may never experience a city or country in which everything is perfectly acceptable, but we can get closer to this ideal provided that we perform our own role effectively.